Kylie runs down the beach towards the water. Her child-like excitement radiates off her in a contagious glow, “I love the beach.” She told me once, “the sun shining on my skin, the feel of the sand between my toes as the waves wash over my feet. It’s almost like paradise. I can forget my troubles here.” I remember her tell me.

Looking at her now, I can see that she wasn’t exaggerating. She practically leapt out of the car before I was able to park properly. Kicking off her thongs, “Come on Amy!”

They race each other to the water. I watch after her in awe, she’s smiling from ear to ear. She’s wearing green short shorts, they hug her legs in that way that makes her appear taller, she had her bikini top on, it was blue, the same colour as her eyes.

Her laugh happiness is contagious, when she smiles, I can’t help but smile back.

Standing on the beach, I watch her gaze at the waves. One hand resting on her brow, shielding the sun from her eyes the other on her hip. It’s in this moment that she looks content, almost like she had nothing in her life that worries her.

She turns towards me and waves me down to her. Kicking off my shoes, I jog towards her. She’s smiling when I reach her, wrapping my arms around her waist I pull her body close to me. She rests her head on my chest.

“I could stay like this forever.” She whispers and I squeeze her tighter.

I could live in this moment forever. I’d like to say that out loud but I wouldn’t know where to begin. Instead I hold her close to me, her hair blowing in my face but it doesn’t bother me. Being this close to her, it’s like I have found my home. She completes me in ways I never thought was possible.

“I think we lost Amy.” I hear her laugh.

I look around and to my right I spot her talking to a shirtless guy holding a surfboard in his hand, I shake my head. “Yep, we’ve lost Amy.”

Kylie grabs my hand and pulls me towards the water. I groan, “but I don’t want to get my hair wet.” I say in a high pitched voice and she slaps me softly. She pretends to be mad but she’s smiling anyway, I love her smile. I scoop her up into my arms and try my best to run through the water. She’s screaming, half with excitement and half with fear. I pretend to trip and we both fall into the water. I come up and we both start laughing.

“You’re an idiot.” She says between laughs. She swims closer to me, wraps her arms around my neck and she presses her mouth to mine. She kisses me softly. I place both my hands on her cheeks and deepen the kiss.

She pulls away and looks towards the beach where Amy is still talking to the surfer guy. “Do you think we should save him?” she asks.

I shake my head, “maybe he’ll change her promiscuous ways.” I say. Kylie turns towards me, smiling she splashes water towards my face. “Hey!” I say and splash her back. I like that we can play around like this. She’s fun to be around and I find myself wondering, what does it mean to want to be around someone? I don’t know but if this is love then I think I like it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

