The bar is bustling with people tonight, takes me only seconds to realise that it was open mic night. I’ve always hated open mic night; some people could actually sing while others couldn’t. I don’t usually have the patience to listen but for some reason I don’t walk out the door. Instead I sit at the bar in the garden and order a cocktail.

The guy next to me tries to hit on me. I groan and tell him to leave me alone. It’s not that he’s not attractive because he is, it’s just that my heart belongs to someone else. Someone I haven’t seen in a long time. Over the years he has crossed my mind, some days it’d be a brief memory flashback while others would be dreams that taunted me in my sleep. I have tried to put him out of my mind by loveless sex every other weekend but it just seems to make me miss him more. I loved him and yet I couldn’t commit myself to him.

The clapping and loud cheering break me from my train of thought. I look up to see a man with a guitar in his hands. He looks about thirty but I couldn’t be sure. I down the rest of my drink and order another one. I can already feel the cloudy feeling that I get when I’m on my way to tipsy. It’s not surprising because it’s always been easy for me to get drunk. After the stressful day that I have had, it’s any wonder why I’m here instead of sitting alone at home.

He starts to play a soft and sweet melody. I sway in time to the music, his deep soulful voice filling my eardrums. I look around to see that I wasn’t the only one who was entranced by this man’s voice. He sings of a girl he once loved, a girl with auburn hair and green eyes. He sings of a smile that was so contagious it could make the saddest person smile. “She broke my heart,” he croons. “She was the one that got away.”

As he plays his song, he has his eyes closed. He lips look plump and soft, I can imagine his kiss would be soft, groaning into my mouth as I run my hands through his hair. I close my eyes and begin imagining what it’d be like to run my hands down his naked body awakens a desire that I haven’t felt in a long time.

My eyes fling open and the loud applause that rang throughout the room. The song has finished; I look up to see him staring at me. His blue eyes staring right into my soul like he knew who I was. He walks towards me, it was as if he was in slow motion, it felt like he took hours to be standing in front of me instead of seconds. He holds out his hand, I take it and he leads me onto the dance floor. As if on cue, the next musician starts playing a soft romantic ballad. He places my hands around his neck and we start swaying to the music.

He says my name as if he has said it a million times before. I smile at him, the butterflies in my stomach start working overtime and my heart starts to beat faster. “I didn’t think you would remember me.” I say softly.

He places his hands on either side of my face, leans in a presses his lips to mine. He breaks away slowly and rests his forehead on mine. “I could never forget you.”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

